• Data Continuum
  • Posts
  • Are you using ChatGPT to become a better Data Analyst?

Are you using ChatGPT to become a better Data Analyst?

How to use ChatGPT to understand code and modify it as well.

In this issue, I’m going to explain how I use ChatGPT to understand code and modify it as well.

A lot of times we might have to go through code written by someone else

It might be confusing to figure out what's going on

Either it might have no comments or comments which isn't descriptive

Or the code might be just complex and needs more explanation

Here’s how I use ChatGPT to understand a piece of code

I want to understand this piece of SQL code which contains window functions

Ask ChatGPT "Explain this language script" to the code Like this:

Even though ChatGPT does explain what code does I want to dissect each line of the code

Now I want to understand what each function does

So I ask Chatgpt to "Explain in more detail what each function does"

Like this:

Ok cool, I understand what’s happening in this code.

Now, I want to perform the same calculation for another column.

I ask Chatgpt to write the same for another value

Like this:

Voila! ChatGPT has literally done the job of a seasoned Data Analyst with the help of a few prompts!

Would you like to see more guides on this topic?

Let me know what you think.

Join the conversation

or to participate.