What you can do to improve your job applications

Can I be honest with you?

I’ve been staring at a blank screen for a while, and I didn’t really know what to write about for today’s email.

In defeat, I went outside for a walk and thought about my time in college, which grimly reminded me of my situation back then.

You see, my background is in mechanical engineering, with nothing related to coding and analytics.

Because there’s something I’ve been hiding for a while…

I used to hate coding.

At the time, this was a horrible mindset to adopt, but more on this later.

My first job back then was at Ford Motor Company, where I was tasked to recreate the entire manufacturing plant in 3D.

The data team at Ford explained to the rookie interns (me) what data analytics was.

They gave an example of how easy it was for e-commerce websites to predict what people buy together.

I was instantly fascinated by it.

The ideas of everything I could possibly do with the practical applications of ML clicked in.

I continued to explore data analytics and eventually decided to stick with it, which has brought me to where I am now.

To this day, I can exactly point out when this fascination hit me.

Anyway,

I took up a management diploma in marketing and analytics because I wanted to get into a field that was a cross of marketing and analytics.

At Great Lakes, I created several projects on marketing and customer research.

As soon as I finished, I got a job at Ernst & Young as a data analytics consultant, where I continue to work now.

I’ve been there for 8 months, and it has felt very rewarding.

Along the way, I learned many skills including Python and SQL, which has completely changed my frame of mind.

Remember when I said I hated coding earlier?

Now I code almost every day and enjoy writing scripts in SQL.

But what does this have to do with anything?

When I was still in school, I didn’t know what my future would look like.

I’ve realized that many of you are in a similar situation to me in college.

And need a small push in the right direction to help you land your dream job.

This is why today I am excited to tell you about Data Science Resume Checklist e-book which includes:

  1. A checklist of what to have

  2. Common mistakes to avoid

  3. My resume which you can take inspiration from

On top of this, I personally will provide up to 3 separate rounds of CV review for you (via mail).

I wouldn’t have made this if it weren’t for you sharing with me your successes, so feel free to reach out to me with any questions or comments!

Join the conversation

or to participate.